Home > Forums

Go Back   Soulforce Community Forums > Community Center > Soulforce Activism

View Poll Results: Did anyone else receive an email like this?
Yes 5 55.56%
No 4 44.44%
Other 0 0%
Voters: 9. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-14-2009, 11:57 PM
Emproph's Avatar
Emproph Emproph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, Florida
Posts: 1,856
Question Did anyone else receive an email like this?

Did anyone else get an email like this through their SoulForce email account?

I’d respond, but the message is rather cryptic, and I can’t find a direct website for them, except for this one, but that doesn’t tell me much either.

Quote:
This is a message from H.G.D.MCHURCH at Soulforce Community Forums ( http://www.soulforce.org/forums/index.php ). The Soulforce Community Forums owners cannot accept any responsibility for the contents of the email.

To email H.G.D.MCHURCH, you can use this online form:
http://www.soulforce.org/forums/send...lmember&u=6503

OR, by email:
mailto:holyghostderiveranceministrychurch@hotmail. com

This is the message:
Quote:
Hello
How is your faith keeping you? hope all is well in God. My name is Eva.Williams from Holy Ghost Deliverance Ministry Church.I saw your profile and i thought that it would be nice to communicate and i will like to discuss important matter with you and as well establishes a new Contacts with you.Please feel free to email me.
( holyghostderiveranceministrychurch@hotmail.com )
( holy_ghost_church@voila.fr )
Hope to hear from you soonest
Williams
__________________
Nothing bad can ever happen.

~God
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-15-2009, 12:21 AM
Jennifer5's Avatar
Jennifer5 Jennifer5 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Seattle (area), Washington
Posts: 4,296
Default

I don't understand...
__________________
"What would you attempt to do if you knew you would not fail?"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-15-2009, 08:59 AM
Pablo Rafael's Avatar
Pablo Rafael Pablo Rafael is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Creede, Colorado
Posts: 957
Default

I did get that email, but didn't open it. It looked suspicious.
__________________
For I am convinced that neither life nor death...neither the present nor the future nor anything in all creation will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:38-39
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-15-2009, 09:36 AM
keltic63's Avatar
keltic63 keltic63 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: south of Pittsburgh
Posts: 3,082
Default

I know for sure that at least 1 other person received that email. It sounds like a phishing scam. Do not reply to it!
__________________
Tolerate one another, just as I have tolerated you.- Jesus Christ?

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2009, 04:19 PM
Daniel's Avatar
Daniel Daniel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 4,591
Default

Yep. I got it. And if you check the profile of the sender, you will see the face of a nice looking black man. Is that the 'Eva' in the message?

Oooooooookaaaaaaaaaay!

As Steve notes, strikes me as a phishing expedition.
__________________
Be the love you seek.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-15-2009, 04:56 PM
BrianB's Avatar
BrianB BrianB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dayton Ohio
Posts: 467
Default

Yes I got this email. It did sound fishy but I looked at their web site anyway. After looking at their information they don't seem to be gay-friendly. They are more the "you need deliverance from the homosexual demon." type.
__________________
"Beloved let us tolerate one another. For tolerance is of God and everyone that tolerates is born of God and knows God. He that tolerates not, knows not God for God is tolerance." 1 John 4:7,8
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-15-2009, 05:07 PM
Emproph's Avatar
Emproph Emproph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, Florida
Posts: 1,856
Default interesting...

Thanks for replying, guys, I'll delete it then.
__________________
Nothing bad can ever happen.

~God
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-15-2009, 08:38 PM
tdogg's Avatar
tdogg tdogg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 2,237
Default

I agree with the others, it was written similar to other phishing scam emails I've read. Ignored it. Would be slightly more interesting if it was a ploy to direct folks to anti/ex-gay website, in that it is using common deceit and lies as usual.
__________________
"Struggle is a never ending process. Freedom is never really won, you earn it and win it in every generation."
Coretta Scott King
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-16-2009, 02:29 PM
Matt Algren Matt Algren is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Southwest Ohio
Posts: 579
Default

I got it too. Rolled my eyes and deleted it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-16-2009, 10:19 PM
Gennee's Avatar
Gennee Gennee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brooklyn,New York
Posts: 1,600
Default Haven't

Haven't received an email but my spirit usually warns me if something's amiss.

Gennee
__________________
'Be who you are.'
Let no one define who you are.'

blog:www.difecta.blogspot.com
www.epistle.us
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-17-2009, 04:55 PM
tymejumper's Avatar
tymejumper tymejumper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Planet Earth
Posts: 879
Default

yeah got one, but I rad it and hit delete. I know soulforce would not send one of these types of messages. It sounded fishy also.
__________________
Don't be afraid, it's only love!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-19-2009, 06:41 AM
Emproph's Avatar
Emproph Emproph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, Florida
Posts: 1,856
Default Wait a minute

Quote:
Originally Posted by tymejumper View Post
It sounded fishy also.
Don't you mean it sounded phishy?
-----------------------------------------------

Also, don't you have to be a member to send emails to members? I just logged out to be sure, and my email info was unavailable to me, when I logged back in it came right up.
__________________
Nothing bad can ever happen.

~God
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-19-2009, 10:56 AM
kara speltz's Avatar
kara speltz kara speltz is offline
Soulforce Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oakland, Ca
Posts: 752
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emproph View Post
Don't you mean it sounded phishy?
-----------------------------------------------

Also, don't you have to be a member to send emails to members? I just logged out to be sure, and my email info was unavailable to me, when I logged back in it came right up.
Yes, you do, and HMChurch has permanently lost his membership privileges for violations. Kara
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eva williams, eva.williams, holy ghost deliverance

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.


The views expressed in the Soulforce Community Forums are the views of the individual authors and do not necessarily represent the views of Soulforce.
©Copyright 2008 Soulforce, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Web Development by Curious Find.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.